A Brief History…

At the instigation of Mr. H.H. Ward, the Curling Association of Ottawa was formed for the 1940-1941 season.  Its function was generally to co-operate with the Canadian Branch of the Royal Caledonia Curling Club (the “Branch”) in the operation of its several annual events, and to control and operate the several inter-club competitions of local interest.  Included among the latter were the original City Bonspiel (competing for the Birks Trophy), and the Central Canada Bonspiel involving the James Manuel and N.F. Wilson Trophies.

In 1956, the City of Ottawa Invitational Bonspiel was inaugurated, superseding the former Central Canada Bonspiel.

On 1 October 1959, the OVCA came into being, succeeding the Curling Association of Ottawa.  The first President of the OVCA was C.A.L. Murchison of the Granite Curling Club of West Ottawa.

As a result of a tripartite agreement entered into in 1962-1963, the OVCA began functioning as the coordinating body for the OVCA, the Ontario Curling Association (the “OCA”) and the Branch.  This function related to clubs in the City of Ottawa and the surrounding Ottawa-St. Lawrence Valley areas.  The OVCA continued in this role until 2001, at which point the OCA withdrew from the agreement and a new arrangement was struck between the OVCA and the Branch.  As a result, the OVCA coordinated Branch events in the OVCA area, collecting membership fees, receiving entries, managing entry fees, and remitting moneys to the Branch.

The OVCA no longer performs this service for the Branch, but continues to encourage its members to get involved in Branch activities.

In 1967, the decision was made to explore incorporation of the OVCA.  A committee was struck, and after many meetings and much discussion an application for incorporation was forwarded to the Provincial Secretary.  Letters patent were granted on 29 July 1968.

Membership in the OVCA is vested in 46 curling clubs in the eastern Ontario and western Québec areas.  In Ontario, member clubs are also members of CurlON, the sport’s governing body for southern Ontario. Quebec member clubs are also members of Curling Quebec. Our member clubs may also chose to join the Canadian Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club and the Ladies Curling Association. 

The OVCA Territory is described in Bylaw 11.