Ken Thain Award

Every year, the OVCA seeks to recognize one or more of its outstanding volunteers for their contribution to the growth and advancement of the game in the Ottawa Valley and Western Quebec.

You’ll find the Award’s policy and nomination form below.  When the call is made, consider nominating one of your outstanding volunteers for the highest honour given in the OVCA.

RECIPIENTS (* – deceased)

2022-23Stephanie Duggan (RC Navy)
Bernie Filiatrault (Lancaster)
Brad Forden (Rideau)
Rob Fry (Rideau)
Denis Leduc (Curling des Collins)
Ron Whitehorn (Prescott)
2021-22Pippa Sellers (RA)
Rick Smith (Metcalfe)
Janet Douma (Winchester)
2020-21Jim Campbell (Russell)
Paul Armstrong (RA)
Richard Burroughs (Smiths Falls)
Ryan Wilkes (Hunt Club)
2019-20Neil Dufour (Prescott)
Lucy Ladouceur (Russell)
David Johnson (Hunt Club)
Ken Wyman (Smiths Falls)
2018-19Pierre and Helene Deslaurier (RCN)
 David Murdoch (Perth)
 Chris Knight (Deep River)
2017-18Margo Burgess (RA)
 Joe Pavia (Hogline Proshop)
 Gerald Priestley (Eganville)
2016-17Joan Semeniuk (RA)
 Colleen Martin (Richmond)
2015-16Marc Bourguignon (RCMP)
 Tersh Doe (Manotick)
 Kelly MacNaull (Ottawa Hunt Club)
 Evans Harrison (Deep River)
 Ken Waterman (RC Navy)
2014-15Bill White
 Kim Wilson (Lachute)
 Art McKay (Almonte)
 Ross Davie (Ottawa Hunt Club)
 Rick & Margaret Lomore (Pembroke)
2013-14 Dianne Corless (Smiths Falls)
  Jill Rivington (Huntley)
  Kevin Baker (Cornwall)
  Agnes McVeety (Smiths Falls)
  Kim Canary
2012-13 Anne Davis (Metcalfe)
 Dan Cogliati (Carleton Heights)
 Bob Day (Perth)
 Doug Sears (OVCA)*
 Art Olson (Granite)
2003-04Jim Young
2001-02Liz Armstrong
2000-01Marian Dupont
1998-99Glen Sage*
1996-97Bill Copping *
1993-94Earl Rigby *
1992-93Ken Murchison*
1991-92John C. Smithson*
1990-91Allan B. Reed*
1989-90Bernard Brunt*
1988-89W. F. Burt *
1987-88Al Merrikin*
1986-87Arthur Ward*
1983-84Dr. Vic Prest*
1982-83Ken Thain *

Who was Ken Thain?

Ken was a very fine curler in his own right, and curled competitively out of the Granite Curling Club. Following some health issues in 1977, he took on the role of Secretary Manager of the OVCA. He was very well respected and considered quite firm but fair. He served at a time when there was considerable acrimony among the parties to the now infamous Tripartite Agreement, i.e. the OVCA and the reluctant suitors–the Canadian Branch and the OCA.

Quiet and serious Ken was a very personable and well liked individual yet had no trouble standing up for the “right answer” on any and all issues. Quite organized, he conducted the Association business efficiently and effectively and wore the “Green Jacket” proudly. He was someone to whom you could always turn for an answer.

When he retired many people “in the system” felt there should be some sort of lasting recognition of his contribution to acknowledge his long, dedicated and meritorious service to the curling community. He agreed reluctantly to the award and very graciously accepted the first one off the press.

From the Archives – History of the Ken Thain Award & initial criteria for awarding the same.

An award was given by the Ottawa Valley Curling Association in 1983 to Mr. Kenneth B. Thain in appreciation for his work over many years in an administrative capacity as schedule and draw chairman and as Secretary-Manager of the O.V.C.A.

On his retirement from the latter position it was decided to honor him further by naming the award “The Ken Thain Award for Meritorious Service”. The Award in the form of a plaque was suitably re-worded and a pin was designed to go along with the plaque which the recipient could wear with pride.

The first recipient of this new award was Dr. V.K. Prest of City View Curling Club for his work with Junior and Little Rock curlers.

The Award should be given to a person who has contributed much to curling in an organizing or administrative way, either as a member of a curling club or association operating under the jurisdiction of the Ottawa Valley Curling Association.

The Award should honor only one person each curling season and should be presented at some official gathering of ‘the Association’.  The pins, which remain the property of the O.V.C.A., are to be numbered and a record kept of the recipients.